RSS Feed

We Met At the Bottom of a River, and Im Glad We Did

Posted on

The tendrils of current ripped past me as I twisted towards the river bed. Sand separated from the floor and swiveled past my flowing hair. The sun glinted on the surface of the water as I spun around and its light filtered to a soft glow around me. I twisted again, helplessly carried away by the current, losing faith and will simultaneously each time I span. I felt calmer than when I first started to sink, I felt relaxed, sleepy almost. My eyes fluttered closed momentarily as my consciousness began to drift.

It was then that I saw her, as delirium and fatigue began to take hold. She was silent and cold but her white, blood-drained skin told her story. Her tale was not a happy one; she was only fifteen when she drowned. Perhaps she had been swimming on a cheery day when nature got the better of her. It had been many summers since the date.

We met at the bottom of a river. It was ironic that joining her saved me from meeting the same fate. She shocked me into fighting for life, because I still had one left to live. It’s sad that I couldn’t take her with me, but I will be grateful for what she did. It was a whisper from beyond the grave, a last goodbye, from my dear sister.

My second prompt from BeKindRewrite. Pssst….they’re awesome πŸ™‚

About otakufool

I just want to let my opinions be heard, and let my writing be viewed.

9 responses »

  1. A beautiful ending. I love that this character manages to find hope and meaning in tragedy. Great work!

    Reply
    • Thanks for reading! I tried not to be too much of a downer on this one πŸ˜›

      I’m loving your posts on queries(mostly because I didn’t know they existed). There are very, VERY informative πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Inspiration Monday VIII «

  3. Indigo Spider

    Wow, this is fantastic. Sad and yet still has happiness as
    he finds a reason to fight for life.

    Reply
  4. Love the happy ending. There is always hope.

    Reply
  5. I felt like I was being taken by the current, too.

    And sadness and gratefulness at the end. Nice.

    Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Live, Nerd, Repeat

Making life better through the perfect application of humor and nerdery

Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

